Thread: Discussion: Jumping incident in Moab.

1. Header
  2. Header-59

BLiNC Magazine, always served unfiltered
    amanager

Discussion: Jumping incident in Moab.

SUMMARY: It's obvious that the PC bridle was not appropriately attached to the canopy.

---

What do you think about this story? Post your comments below.

PaulK

RE: Discussion: Jumping incident in Moab.

Hi. 2 people die in the sport this month is really unfortunate. I am just getting into BASE and this is very disconcerning to me. I would hope that when I do it I am very carefull and dont take unnessisary or foolish risks. My thoughts go to his family. Lets not let this happen again guys.

base386

I've always had an "irrational fear" of something not hooked up right, and used to ask dear ole friend skypunk..."Is my bridle attached as I repeatedly pulled and pulled and inspected it." This incident has always been a nightmare, recurring... Even opening my container before leaving home, usually twice, and at the jump site should be routine. This incident is really no different than the daisy chain one in Moab 3 years ago. I still fly cessna's, and just as pilots go through a checklist, canopy flight pilots should too.
    My best to the family , friends, and his dog.

BLiNC Magazine Supporter (Silver)

like you, I've always had an irrational fear about these sorts of things. mainly concerning continuity of the system. From the pc/centerline/bridle to the canopy apex right down through the 3-rings and cutaway. I check these things constantly... sometimes to the chagrin of and with the ridicule of others whom I have check things for me for verification. my latest nightmare: the tapes holding the closing pins (2) on the bridle mysteriously wears/breaks/threads come loose and upon deployment leaves a pin (or both) still holding the container closed. irrational?? probably. ridiculous?? not in my estimation.... often it's the simple things like this that can ruin your day.